Licensing Your Vehicle in Geary County
July 29th, 2021
Notice to all vehicle owners:
Starting August 16th, for the State of Kansas to be in compliance with federal regulations, the treasurer’s office will no longer be able to title a vehicle without a title. This pertains to those with OUT OF STATE plates on their vehicle or those who may have bought a vehicle with an OUT OF STATE TITLE. In the past, we have issued a temporary courtesy registration for those without a title, we can no longer do that. NMVTIS (National Motor Vehicle Title Information System), was established under the Anti Car Theft Act of 1992 and was reauthorized under the Anti Car Theft Improvements Act of 1996. It is a tool designed to assist state vehicle title agencies, vehicle title investigators, and law enforcement in deterring and preventing vehicle related crimes. It is intended to protect consumers from fraud and unsafe vehicles.
If you are planning to buy or currently are not in possession of your (out of state title) due to financing it, you need to contact your lienholder and have them send the title to the motor vehicle department in which you are intending to title your vehicle. The Geary County Treasurer’s Office is located at 200 E 8th St in Junction City, the address to have title mailed is: Geary County Treasurer’s Office (Motor Vehicle Department) 200 E 8th St Junction City KS 66441
View more information about registering your vehicle in Kansas.
Whether you've just moved to Geary County, or you're a long time resident with a new car or truck, congratulations! One of your first tasks is to get a new Kansas license plate or to transfer a plate from your old to your new vehicle so that you can drive legally.
To do that, you need to register your vehicle with the state for a fee and pay your property taxes at the Geary County Treasurer's Motor Vehicle Department. To help you through this sometimes complex task, the Motor Vehicle Department has outlined the steps you need to follow.
You need to go in person to the Motor Vehicle Department to get your license plate, or to transfer a plate. If you intend to register the vehicle jointly (listing it as Jane and John Doe or Jane Doe John Doe), then all owners need to be present, or the individual who will be coming into the office with the paperwork will need to bring a power of attorney appointed to them from the other owners. This applies to the names as they appear on the ownership documents. Alterations may void those documents.
Any vehicle that is garaged in Geary County may owe property tax, even if the vehicle belongs to a company that has headquarters out-of-state.
If you are a new KS resident and are planning on registering your Out-of-State vehicle in the state of Kansas:
- Registration is required within 90 days of the date of establishing a Kansas domicile.
- Some examples that may make you a Kansas resident for purposes of registration are:
- Own, lease or rent a place of domicile for more than 90 days
- Have a place of domicile and accept employment
You should license any vehicle within 60 days of purchase, which is the assigned date on the certificate of origin/title, to avoid possible penalties. While waiting to get your vehicle titled and registered, you must display on your vehicle the 60-day permit that you have obtained from a Kansas motor vehicle dealer or from a Motor Vehicle Department office.
After Registering Your Vehicle
After you license your vehicle you will receive a 30 day permit. This must be displayed on the back of your vehicle. A notification via text or email will be available to you that will notify you when to expect your metal plates in the mail.
Please remember, you are responsible for the annual renewals prior to expiration. If you do not receive the courtesy renewal notice from the state by the 5th of your expiration month, contact the Geary County Motor Vehicle Office for assistance. The renewal month is determined by the first letter of an individual’s last name or the first letter of a company’s name.
To license a truck weighing under 12,000 pounds, a car, motorcycle, or motorized bicycle, you need to bring the following with you to the Motor Vehicle Department Office:
Proof of Insurance
Everyone will be required to show proof of insurance on all motor vehicle transactions. Renewals done by mail will need to include a copy of the proof of insurance on each vehicle along with the renewal notice.
State law requires that each vehicle carry an insurance card with the following elements as proof of insurance:
- Name of insurer
- Name of insured
- Policy number
- Effective date and expiration date to include the current date
- Vehicle description including Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
Proof of Liability Insurance is not required for:
- Manufactured Homes (Mobile Homes)
- Motorized bicycles
- Non-Highway vehicles
- Applications for a title only and no registration
Kansas law requires that you carry no-fault liability insurance on any vehicle except a motorized bicycle so that, in case of an accident, the other vehicle and its passengers are protected.
When registering a trailer, the towing vehicle's insurance is needed. If the trailer is towed by a number of vehicles, the policy number of the vehicle that tows it most often should be used. However, all vehicles pulling a trailer must have insurance coverage.
Proof of insurance may be originals, photocopies and facsimiles are acceptable, including images displayed on a cellular phone or any other type of portable electronic device.
Proof of Ownership
- Established residents - If you are an established resident who is registering a vehicle that you have just acquired, you need a properly assigned manufacturer's certificate of origin if it is a new vehicle or a properly assigned title from the previous owner if it is a used vehicle.
- New residents - If you are a new resident who is licensing a vehicle that you have brought from another state, you need the vehicle's title. If the title is being held by a lender or with another state, you need to contact your lienholder and have them send the original title to the motor vehicle department in which you are intending to register your vehicle. The Geary County Treasurer’s Office is located at 200 E 8th St in Junction City, the address to have the title mailed is: Geary County Treasurer’s Office (Motor Vehicle Department) 200 E 8th St Junction City KS 66441.
- Note: Sometimes the state you're moving from will request something in writing from the Geary County office before releasing the original title. In that case call 785-238-8109 and request the letter. You will be asked to provide information on the vehicle, including the VIN # and Loan Account # so please have that available.
Feel free to call the Motor Vehicle Department Office for additional information.
Odometer Disclosure Statement
Vehicles less than 10 years old require the Odometer Disclosure Statement completed by the seller and buyer.
Kansas Highway Patrol Inspection
You will need a Kansas Vehicle Identification Number Verification if the vehicle has an out-of-state title. If you do not have your title due to it being financed with a lienholder, see section above titled Proof of Ownership. An inspection is not necessary if the car has a manufacturer's certificate of origin. The inspection shows that your vehicle's identification number has been checked to make sure the vehicle is not stolen.
This state-required inspection is available for a $20 fee (cash only accepted). The inspectors are located in the Sheriff's office on 826 N Franklin St Junction City, KS 66441 on the 9th Street side entrance. They will conduct inspections Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4 p.m.
A Sales Tax Receipt
A sales tax receipt from a Kansas motor vehicle dealer is needed if you have just bought the vehicle that you are licensing. Per Kansas state law, additional sales tax may be collected if the amount collected is lower than the Geary County tax of 9.75%.
If you bought the vehicle from someone other than a Kansas dealer, you need to bring a bill of sale for sales tax purposes you must pay sales tax which can be as much as 9.75% of the purchase price, depending on the area in which you live.
For the state registration fee, property taxes, and sales taxes, payments may be in:
- American Express
- Discover Card
- One check
If a credit or debit card is used, a 2.5% fee is charged by the processing company.
More Than One Vehicle
If you are licensing more than one vehicle, you may combine all fees on one check for all vehicles. The person signing the check must provide a driver's license number and daytime phone number.
The registration fee is $30 for cars up to 4,500 pounds and $40 for cars over 4,500 pounds or trucks weighing under 12,000 pounds. Motorized bicycle tags cost $16 and motorcycle tags cost $16. The property tax can run from a minimum of $24 for a full year to several hundred dollars for a new vehicle. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) modernization fee is $4 in addition to regular fees.
Get an Estimate
You can obtain an estimate by calling the office at 785-238-8109 and giving them the vehicle year, make and model or the VIN for the vehicle. Also the purchase price of the vehicle.
60 Day Permits
This permit can only be issued on newly purchased vehicles. The purchaser must be assigned on the back of the title. You must apply for the permit within the first 60 days of ownership, otherwise you must title and register your vehicle. Only one 60 day permit may be issued per vehicle sale. The date of sale is the legal date of purchase. This is found on the title or a bill of sale. This determines the expiration date of the permit. You must bring in proof of insurance for the newly purchased vehicle, driver’s license, and the title.
If you purchased the vehicle from a dealership you will need to bring in proof of purchase, driver’s license, and insurance for the vehicle.
A 60 day permit may be obtained with an electronic title sales agreement form if purchasing a Kansas titled vehicle with an electronic title.
Fee for a 60 day permit is $8.00
1 Day Permit
This permit is valid only to take a vehicle from where it is parked to the VIN Inspection and back again. These same day permits are not valid to move the vehicle for any other reason. Vehicle inspections for salvage or non-highway must be done with highway patrol. Call *47 for the KHP Dispatcher in Salina, KS. They will take your information and make arrangements. You may also call 785-827-4437.
The inspection cost is $20 for an out-of-state title or $25 for a salvage or non-highway highway patrol inspection.
You must provide the title and proof of insurance.
Fee for a 1 day permit is $1.00.
Extensions on temporary permits and tags are not permitted.
If you would like to order a personalized plate for a vehicle that currently has a standard Ad Astra plate, you must come into the motor vehicle office and order your plate. Bring your current registration receipt for the vehicle and the completed (TR-715PR). If you would like to look up the combination for availability refer to the website.
Fee for personalized plates are $45.50.